Compostable, biodegradable plastic cup, meet my compost pile (day 1)

Experimenting with compostable plastic cups. Day one: May 13th 2009. (I even stuffed the cup with compost to help get it started biodegrading.)

Experimenting with compostable plastic cups. Day one: May 13th 2009. (I even stuffed the cup with compost to help get it started biodegrading.)

At Inman Park Festival a few weeks ago, we got a couple cups of lemonade. As usual, I held onto the plastic cup for the rest of the festival and took it home with me to recycle. As I was about to put it in my blue recycling bag, I noticed that on the side of the cup it said, “Made of corn. Please compost.” Currently, my neighbors are trying their hand at composting two plastic “to go” containers that don’t seem to be disintegrating too quickly, so I figured we could give it another shot with a compostable plastic cup.

So, here is a picture of day one of my experiment to see how long it will take for this compostable plastic cup to biodegrade. I will take pictures periodically and post them on here to check on progress. In the meantime, you can read my earlier blog post here with facts on compostable corn plastics and a photo of my neighbors’ biodegradable “to go” containers. Have you tried to compost corn plastics in your home compost pile? Let me know how it’s working for you! Thanks!

Comments
3 Responses to “Compostable, biodegradable plastic cup, meet my compost pile (day 1)”
  1. steph says:

    Hi Jenny,

    What happened to the cup? I just got some plastic marked compostable so I am curious.

    Thanks for caring about the environment. Atlanta needs you.

    Steph

    • Hi Steph,
      Thanks for asking! I meant to post a follow-up blog to the compostable cup, but the news is less-than-exciting. The cup looks about the same, a little cracked and worse for wear, but certainly not degraded. When I talked with Melia Lesko of Greenco Environmental, a composting company I did a blog on last year, I asked her about that and she said typically those cups (and other biodegradable plastics) are meant for high-volume facilities that can bring the compost up to the heat and pressure it needs to properly decompose. I imagine if I had a smaller bin and kept the cup covered, it would degrade faster, but I haven’t done that.

      Thanks for checking in and asking! If you experience something different, please let me know. 🙂
      Jenny

  2. ana duron says:

    I would like to know what kind of plastic you all buy. and at what price. thank tou

Leave a Reply

