Quick tip: when dining out, bring your own food container to take your leftovers to go!

Yesterday, I met up with Kathy, the brains behind Georgia Green Dining Guide, to talk about local Atlanta food and the possibility of creating a new kind of dining guide. While discussing a wide variety of topics, Kathy said to me…

“You know, I can’t believe how many people act so surprised when I bring my own to-go tupperware to a restaurant for my leftovers! I hate styrofoam and that’s such a simple solution to wasteful food containers – I don’t know why more people don’t do that!”

I have to admit, the first thing I said was, “that is a good idea! I’m going to start doing that!” And it’s so easy! So, let’s start a quiet revolution – next time you eat out (at one of our Atlanta farm-to-table restaurants, of course!), take your own to-go food container and leave the plastic, styrofoam, and paper products behind.

P.S. If you’re looking for a more sustainable coffee, Kathy and I sat down at the Dancing Goats, a local Decatur coffee shop that serves organic and fair trade coffees from Batdorf and Bronson Coffee Roasters.

Leave a Reply

