Woo hoo! I finally got my new road bike, a Fuji Finest 1.0! Time to start training for triathlons…

Getting ready to take my new Fuji Finest 1.0 for a quick spin up the street a few minutes after purchasing it!

Getting ready to take my new Fuji Finest 1.0 for a quick spin up the street a few minutes after purchasing it! (and then Grant Dog jumped in the picture)

After months of searching, I finally found my bike today! I would like to welcome my new Fuji Finest 1.0 to the family! This 2007 model has an aluminum frame, two carbon forks, Shimano Integra derailleurs (and other Shimano components), and is built for women. I didn’t set out to purchase a feminine bike, but this one fit great (and I like how the shifters are made for smaller hands – a little easier!). I’m no bike expert, but this bike is awesome, especially since it was originally priced at $1,600, knocked down to $800, and then came with another 20% discount for joining the store’s club. It’s a race-quality bike for an entry-level price, which was key.

I did call my brother (the avid bike rider with both a road bike, mountain bike, and no car) to ask his opinion, and he said Fujis are a solid choice, even though they’re not a huge name in the industry. But then again, I knew I wasn’t going to walk out with a Cannondale.

After weeks of searching craigslist, I sort-of gave up on that avenue (especially because my boyfriend and I are hoping to do the Tugaloo triathlon in one month) and commenced to researching online, visiting local bike shops around town, test driving, etc. I called around to see who had what bikes in my size and ended up at Performance Bicycles on the 85 access road today. After we initially looked at some bikes that didn’t really do it for me, Ryan was extremely helpful and suggested the Fuji Finest 1.0 and set me up for a test ride. Performance Bikes also has a program similar to REI where you get 10% back in store credit on every purchase when you join their club, which I did, and so can go back and have a credit to start buying all of the accessories that I’ll need.

Anyway, I’m excited and have owned the bike for all of a few hours, so I’ll keep y’all updated as I get out there on the road with it!!

Comments
4 Responses to “Woo hoo! I finally got my new road bike, a Fuji Finest 1.0! Time to start training for triathlons…”
  1. Greg says:

    Nice ride! I finally got a road bike about 3 months ago and went through the same process of what seems like endless test rides and research. I got pretty lucky on Craigslist thought. Good luck to you and your boyfriend with your triathlon training. I’m blogging about similar training and experiences, but cycling has quickly become my strongest leg of the tri. (ridingforareason.wordpress.com)

  2. Mike says:

    I’m planning to buy on Performance Bike the same bike for my 13-year old daughter (size XS). May I know how’s the bike so far?

    Your reply will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Mike

  3. Leti says:

    I have this bike and I love it! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! I had a problem with the 105 Ultegra front derailleur, but the local Performace store upgraded me to a Dura Ace front der and now it shifts like butter!

Leave a Reply

