Fall planting season is nearly here! And I’m looking for mondo grass if you have any you’d like to get rid of…

It’s with dirt under my fingernails and a beer beside my computer that I sit down to write a quick blog tonight. Fall planting season is upon us again and I spent the afternoon weeding my yard in anticipation. Due to the large number of trees and abundant shade in my yard, I embarked on a quest a couple of years ago to carpet my lawn with mondo grass, which grows great in shade. So far, so good, but I have a lot more ground to cover. When I started this project, I used large amounts of mondo from my parents’ yard in combination with dwarf mondo from Pike’s wholesale nursery. The native mondo has grown leaps and bounds over the dwarf mondo, but that’s probably due in part to the fact that dwarf mondo spreads at a pace that rivals mollases.

So, I’m looking for native, regular mondo grass (not monkey grass or lirope, but the smaller version) in the Atlanta and Decatur area. If you have native mondo grass in your yard – in any amount – that is taking over and you would like to cut it back, please email me or leave a comment below and I will come by with my shovel and dig it out for you! Thanks!

And thanks to my mom’s friends in the Lullwater Garden Club who donated mondo grass to the cause this past spring and who’s doors I will be knocking on again in the next few weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

